The Ethels

The Ethels comprise 95 hills in the Peak District, the majority over 400m high but with some prominent lower hills.  The list's name is a tribute to Ethel Haythornthwaite who pioneered the establishment of the Peak District as Britain's first national park in 1951.

The Peak District and South Yorkshire branch of the CPRE countryside charity announced The Ethels in May 2021.  The Ethels were devised in early 2021 by CPRE volunteer Doug Colton, who then built the Ethel Ready smartphone app.

Use the Mountain Search page to view the map and list of Ethels.

(Ethels appear as Class=E on this website).

My Progress

I have completed 0 (0%) of 95 Ethels

(* please note that map may be slow to load)

League Table - compare your progress with other members of this site.


Thanks to Douglas Colton, the creator of the Ethels list.