43: Armagh, Down and Antrim 44: Londonderry, Tyrone and Fermanagh 45: Donegal to Sligo 46: North Mayo 47: Connemara to South Mayo 48: Clare, Limerick and Cork 49: Dingle Peninsula 50: Iveragh Peninsula 51: Beara Peninsula to Clear Island 52: Kenmare to Macroom 53: Tipperary 54: Waterford, Kilkenny and Carlow 55: Wicklow 56: Central Lowlands
Click on the regions on the map to zoom in and locate the mountains.
The regions, with their names and numbering are taken from
The Hewitts and Marilyns of Ireland by E D "Clem" Clements.

The Hewitts

A Hewitt is "a Hill in England, Wales or Ireland over Two Thousand feet high (610m) with a drop of at least 30 metres (98 feet) all round".

The Hewitts of England and Wales are therefore a subset of the Nuttalls.

A Subhewitt is a hill which just fails (by up to 10m) to qualify on the drop rule, i.e. over 610m with 20-29m drop.  Note that the subHewitts formerly included hills between 600m and 610m, but these are now simply classified as Deweys.

(Hewitts appear as Class=Hew on this website, and Subhewitts as Class=sHew).

The list was compiled and is maintained by TACit Press, who also publish a hillwalking fanzine, and other interesting stuff about mountains.

My Progress
I have completed 0 (0%) of 316 Hewitts of England and Wales [Map*]
(0 (0%) of 523 including Ireland [Map*])
(0 (0%) of 180 English Hewitts [Map*])
(0 (0%) of 136 Welsh Hewitts [Map*])
(0 (0%) of 207 Irish Hewitts [Map*])

(* please note that map may be slow to load)

League Table - compare your progress with other members of this site.