Click on the regions on the map to zoom in and locate the mountains.

The Nuttalls

The definition of a Nuttall is "any summit of 2000ft (610m) or more which rises above its surroundings on all sides by at least 50ft (15m)".

I have also included the "deleted" tops, which just fail to qualify on either the height or difference rule.

Change Register - registry of changes to the Nuttalls list.

(Nuttalls appear as Class=N on this website, and the "deleted" tops as Class=xN).

My Progress
I have completed 0 (0%) of 442 Nuttalls [Map*]
(0 (0%) of 188 Welsh Nuttalls [Map*])
(0 (0%) of 254 English Nuttalls [Map*])

(* please note that map may be slow to load)

League Table - compare your progress with other members of this site.

Nuttalls by rank 1-100   101-200   201-300   301-400   401-442   "deleted" tops

Pillar Rock

The Nuttalls list includes Pillar Rock which cannot be ascended without rock climbing equipment - click on the link for details of a route of ascent.


The Nuttalls are named after John and Anne Nuttall, from the list of mountains in their excellent books The Mountains of England and Wales volumes 1 and 2, published by Cicerone Press.

The list of mountains and names of mountain areas are reproduced from these books by their kind permission.

Nuttalls by Area

Click on a hill total on the list below to show the Mountain Search page for the Nuttalls in the corresponding chapter of The Mountains of England and Wales volumes 1 and 2 by John and Anne Nuttall.

AreaN Total
Lake District - Northern Fells18
Lake District - North Western Fells19
Lake District - Western Fells29
Lake District - Central Fells9
Lake District - Southern Fells45
Lake District - Eastern Fells26
Lake District - Far Eastern Fells23
The Cheviots6
North Pennines - Western Fells24
North Pennines - Eastern Fells12
Yorkshire Dales - Northern Fells19
Yorkshire Dales - Southern Fells19
The Peak District3
The Carneddau22
The Glyders12
Moel Hebog11
The Moelwyns15
The Arenigs13
The Berwyns23
The Arans14
The Rhinogs9
Cadair Idris12
Central Wales - Elan Valley2
Central Wales - Pumlumon6
Central Wales - Radnor Forest3
Black Mountains11
Brecon Beacons23